Here are the 32 teams in the 2022 FIFA World Cup – Chicago


Welcome to the Chicago Popular News community. The subject of this news is Here are the 32 teams in the 2022 FIFA World Cup – Chicago

here are the details.

Here are the 32 teams in the 2022 FIFA World Cup originally appeared on nbc sports chicago

The four-year wait is almost over.

Following Costa Rica’s win over New Zealand in the final qualifying match on Tuesday, the 32-team field for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar is officially set.

In just a few months, these countries will compete in eight groups for a chance to lift one of sport’s most prestigious trophies, but which nations will participate?

Here are all the teams that will participate in the 2022 FIFA World Cup starting in November:

How many teams are there in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

As mentioned above, there are 32 nations scheduled to play in Qatar. In addition to the host nation, which receives an automatic place in the competition, the remaining 31 teams must obtain qualification from their respective continental governing body: Africa (CAF), Asia (AFC), Europe (UEFA), North America/America Central/Caribbean (CONCACAF) and South America (CONMEBOL).

Those places are broken down by region: Africa (5), Asia (4, along with Qatar this year), Europe (13), North America/Central America/Caribbean (3), and South America (4).

Two spots were also determined through intercontinental playoff qualifiers. Australia (Asia) beat Peru (South America) for one spot while Costa Rica (Caribbean) won the other.

How many groups are there in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

The 32 nations are then divided into eight groups for the group stage round. Those eight groups are written with letters of the alphabet: Group A, B, C, D, E, F, G and H. The teams competing in each were launched after the World Cup draw on April 1. .

The two teams with the most points after three group stage matches advance to the first knockout round. Play continues in a single elimination format the rest of the way until a winner is crowned.

Who are the teams in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

These are the 32 nations playing in Qatar, sorted by group:

Group A: Qatar, Netherlands, Senegal, Ecuador

B Group: England, United States, Wales, Iran

Group C: Argentina, Poland, Mexico, Saudi Arabia

Group D: France, Denmark, Tunisia, Australia

Group E: Germany, Spain, Japan, Costa Rica

Group F: Belgium, Croatia, Canada, Morocco

Group G: Brazil, Switzerland, Serbia, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Uruguay, Ghana, Republic of Korea


What do you think?

Written by Natalia Chi

Chicago Popular; Chicago breaking news, weather and live video. Covering local politics, health, traffic and sports for Chicago, the suburbs and northwest Indiana.

Leave a Reply

Nations League, Germany-Italy 5-2: Débâcle of the Azzurri. Germans dominate – Chicago News

Ryanair chief rages over special tax, threatens flight cuts – Portfolio